Student workshop: The Climate Crisis and Universities: Capturing the student perspective

16 September, 2021  |  Past Events  ,  SDSN Youth AusPac  ,  Universities & SDGs   


Date: Tuesday, 12 October 2021

Time: 7­–9 pm Auckland | 6–8 pm Suva | 5–7 pm Melbourne/Sydney | 4–6 pm Brisbane | 4:30–6:30 pm Adelaide | 2–4 pm Perth | all time zones

Register: https://forms.gle/eSxusAtmVASwMRjZA


We are inviting any student who has a curiosity or passion about addressing climate change to come and be inspired, share, learn, and collaborate on capturing the student perspective on the climate crisis and universities!

Action to address climate change has never been more important, as the recent IPCC report and the upcoming COP26 global negotiations are demonstrating. Universities have a central role in combating climate change – and students are major stakeholders and partners in driving action.

The aim of this workshop is to empower university students from the Australia, New Zealand and other Pacific nations to drive climate action in their institutions, by:

  • Providing an opportunity for students from across the region to connect and network with one another
  • Sharing inspiring examples of what students at different universities are doing
  • Brainstorming additional ideas for student action, and what universities can do to support it 
  • Creating a position statement capturing the discussion to share with other students and universities in our region and globally 

The workshop is open to any university student and no preparation is required.

Contact: isabelle.zhu-maguire@sdsnyouth.org
(SDSN Youth Coordinator for Australia, NZ & Pacific)

Organised by SDSN Youth AusNZPac, in collaboration with:
Sustainable Universities Network (SUN) | Australasian Campuses Towards Sustainability (ACTS) | Youth Environmental Alliance in Higher Education (YEAH) | Australian Youth for International Climate Engagement (AYFICE)